Hi-Fi 4 Sale - Malaysia / Singapore Audio Forum & Marketplace | www.hifi4sale.net
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Search

Display results as :

Rechercher Advanced Search

440Hz.my - expanding musical horizons
Subscribe to our Feed
addtomyyahoo4 Subscribe with BloglinesAdd to netvibes
Add to Google

A Less Costly Journey To Audio Nirvana

5 posters

Go down

A Less Costly Journey To Audio Nirvana Empty A Less Costly Journey To Audio Nirvana

Post by DrWho Wed Aug 03, 2016 4:33 pm

A Less Costly Journey To Audio Nirvana

I have been dabbling with hifi systems for more than 30 years. In the course my hifi hobby I have visited many homes to audition their hifi systems so as to widen my exposure to sound reproductions by the various equipments and the environments in which these equipments are located. I have visited a few homes where the hifi equipment setup cost more than the house itself. That is the cost of passion with this hobby.
We are constantly influenced to have an urge to upgrade our equipment. When we want to upgrade, do we really know what we want? “To have a better sound” is not specific enough an answer. What sonic attributes are lacking in our present setup that we hope to achieve with an upgrade? Will some of the positive sonic attributes in our present go missing after the upgrade? After all, most sonic attributes could be achieved but with a trade off, for example refinement versus speed etc.
When you choose a plug and play route to achieve your audio nirvana, your cost would certainly be higher than if you were to retain your present setup and do a major house keeping and do some tweaking. For example, if you suffer from a poor quality power supply, it would be more effective to overcome this problem than to upgrade your hifi equipment with the hope of getting a better sound.